My 2022 rewind

My 2022 rewind

In this article, I write about my books, the tech I used, finance planning and my productivity system.

"Books are a uniquely portable magic." – Stephen King

Books I read

  1. Atomic Habits by James Clear
  1. The Subtitle art of not giving f*cked by Mark Manson
  1. The courage to be disliked by Ichiro Kishimi
  1. Do epic shit by Ankur Warikoo
  1. Ikigai by Hector Garcia

  2. Start with why by Simon Sinek

  1. The Power of Habits by Charles Duhigg
  1. Psychology of Money by Morgan Housel

    1. Ego is the enemy by Ryan Holiday

    2. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

  1. Let's talk Money by Monika Halan

Tech I use

For Privacy:

  1. Password manager

File:Dashlane logo 2020.svg - Wikimedia Commons

I personally used Dashlane as my password manager and it's a premium feature that also comes up with a VPN service as well. I also used other services but none come closer to its simplicity.

For Productivity:

  1. Notes:

    Download Notion Logo PNG and Vector (PDF, SVG, Ai, EPS) Free

A Guide to Obsidian: Local, Markdown-Powered Networked Notes - SitePoint

I mainly used Notion for personal use but I am also looking into Obsidian as well since I like privacy in my notes and as it stores files locally on my system so I am open to taking backups to my google account and comes up quite a big suite of community-powered plugins.

Right now, I am only writing a journal on obsidian

  1. Tasks:

The Best To-Do List App | Reviews by Wirecutter

I am using TickTick as my daily to-do manager, having options for habit tracking, and calendar integration really helps me to manage my time well.

  1. Read it Later:

    Pocket | Discover, Capture and Savor Content That Fascinates You

I used Pocket as my read-it-later application, where I save all my long articles, and blog posts and read them when I got time in much happy environment where I can highlight all my important items and categories them with the help of tags.

For Utility:

  1. Spotify:

Logo and Brand Assets — Spotify

I am a long-time user of Spotify, I really like their content suggestion algorithm which also helps me in finding new music as well. Earlier I was using Amazon music and Gaana but they don't have Spotify connect feature which truly shines when you have multiple devices and you want to control your music from any single device.

  1. Raindrop:

Raindrop.io Reviews 2022: Details, Pricing, & Features | G2

Earlier I also rely on google bookmarks but as my bookmarks started going, managing them become a nightmare for me. Since there we no place to tag them, group similar bookmarks.

Raindrop fixes all those problems but also gave the power to annotate any website by adding highlights and comments to it.

  1. Readwise:

Pricing | Readwise

In today's time, we all consume a lot of information and managing and resisting the important ones become really tough for me. Readwise makes it easier to revisit your highlights and you can import highlights from various platforms such as Kindle, Twitter, Pocket and etc. and you can also export them to Evernotes, Notion and etc.

Personal Finance management

“Financial freedom is available to those who learn about it and work for it.” ― Robert Kiyosaki

  1. Started investing in the Indian stock market via Zerodha*

  2. Build an emergency fund

  3. Start tracking my expenses via Google sheets

The podcast that I listened

  1. The psychology of your 20s with Jemma Sbeg

  2. The Daily Mastery by Robin Sharma

  3. The Daily Motivation by Lewis Howes

  4. The Mindset Mentor by Rob Dial

  5. Think Fast Talk Smart by Standford GSB

  6. Tiny Leaps, Big Changes by Gregg Clunis

My current productivity workflow

I capture information from a variety of sources like Medium, random blogs and off-course Twitter as well. As you can see I read books as well but to gain maximum from them I use Readwise* to send daily digests from my capturing phase

I use IFTT for automation of my tasks that create to-do in my to-do app TickTick(a single source of all my daily tasks) after capturing from different sources.

Thanks for reading.